Universities enter licence agreement with music societies

The Australian Vice-Chancellors’ Committee (AVCC) today announced a new licence agreement between the Australian music societies and 33 of Australia’s universities.

AVCC Chief Executive Officer, Mr John Mullarvey said that under the agreement the universities are able to reproduce, communicate and perform an extensive repertoire of musical works without having to obtain prior permission of copyright holders.

“This agreement has been subject to negotiations for a considerable time now and we are pleased with the final agreement. It reflects the commitment by the universities to work closely and cooperatively with music copyright owners in paying equitable remuneration for access to their works,” Mr Mullarvey said.

“Under the licence universities will pay the Australasian Mechanical Copyright Owners Society Limited, the Australasian Performing Right Association Limited, the Australasian Record Industry Association and the Phonographic Performance Company of Australia Pty Limited,” he said.

Mr Mullarvey said that universities need access to third party copyright material in an orderly and structured way so that they can get on with their core businesses of teaching, learning and research.

Representatives for the music societies Dean Ormston, APRA's Director of General Licensing and Jason McLennan, ARIA's Head of Business and Legal Affairs, said they were extremely pleased that with the assistance of the AVCC an agreement had been reached with so many universities. The package of rights now available to universities, in the context of education, was substantial and represented great value.

6 June 2005


Site Map | Search | Terms of Use | Privacy | Copyright 2005- © ARIA - Australian Recording Industry Association Ltd. All rights reserved.